Acceptable Proof of Insurance
Motor vehicle owners and lessees are required by law to maintain continuous Georgia Liability Insurance coverage on vehicles with active registrations. Driving a vehicle while the registration is suspended, revoked, or cancelled is a misdemeanor. Additional penalties will apply, if convicted of driving a vehicle with a suspended or cancelled registration.
Acceptable proof of insurance by vehicle owner/lessees is required to:
- Register and receive a Georgia license plate on their vehicle
- Renew, transfer, or replace their Georgia license plate
- Legally drive their vehicle or maintain on actively registered vehicle
By law, Department of Revenue is required to:
- Suspend and revoke registration of any vehicle that does not have continuous Georgia Liability insurance coverage.
- Fine the vehicle owner/lessee $25 Fee for any lapse of coverage while vehicle is actively registered.
- Fine the vehicle owner/lessee up to $160 in addition to the $25 Fee (if not paid within 30 days).
- Not allow registration to be renewed or reinstated, for any of the following:
- If fines have not been paid
- There has been an unresolved lapse of coverage
- Vehicle is not insured
Motor vehicle owners and lessees are required to:
- Maintain continuous Georgia liability insurance coverage on all registered vehicles
- Voluntarily cancel the vehicle registration immediately, if the vehicle is not in service using Form MV-18J
- Not drive or let anyone else drive a vehicle that does not have a valid vehicle registration and Georgia liability insurance coverage
Acceptable Proof of Georgia Vehicle Liability Insurance Coverage
Must be carried in vehicle at all times:
- Proof of insurance filed by your
insurance company directly in the Department’s database. Access to the Insurance State Inquiry Application
- Rental agreement is for a vehicle that is rented, not leased, and must be carried in the rental vehicle while being driven.
- Fleet Insurance Policy Card must be carried in vehicle at all times while vehicle is being driven
- Bill of Sale dated within 30 days of the date the vehicle was purchased and a valid insurance binder page (usually the top page of an insurance policy) issued by the insurer, licensed in Georgia
- For self-insured owners, a valid Self-Insured Insurance Card and a Certificate of Self-Insurance issued by the Georgia Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner’s
A self-insurer is any owner who has, on file with the Georgia Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner’s office, an approved self-insurance plan. This plan provides coverage and benefits, and an efficient claims handling procedure equal to those provided by an automobile liability insurance company. It should comply with all state laws, rules, and regulations. A self-insured insurance information card must be accompanied by a current certificate of self-insurance issued by the Georgia Insurance and Safety Commissioner’s Office (ICO) for it to be acceptable proof of insurance coverage.
- For a vehicle registered with the Georgia International Registration Plan (IRP), a valid insurance policy information card issued by an insurer, licensed in Georgia, in the registered owner’s name reflecting the vehicle’s identification number (VIN). This card must be carried in the vehicle at all times while being driven.
Category: Auto Insurance